Originally Posted On: https://japanesericeflour.com/what-is-non-gluten/
In the United States and Europe, there has been a growing popularity of “gluten-free” food items, catered to those with Celiac’s disease or a sensitivity to the gluten protein in wheat, barley, and rye. The “non-gluten” label identifies products with a stricter criteria of 1ppm or less of gluten content, while “gluten-free” products have a standard of only 20ppm or less.
Japanese rice flour (or rice powder) is one of the non-gluten products that undergoes the stricter gluten content inspection and is accredited through a third-party certification system. Accredited rice flour will have an official “non-gluten” label from the Japanese Rice Flour Association. The lower level of gluten content in Japanese rice flour makes it a more secure alternative for those on a gluten-free diet.